2017 – Weekend Planner and Vacation Calender

2017 WEEKEND PLANNER FOR INDIA

Good news for travel-bugs who love to escape in weekends. The next year – 2017 is packed with 14 long weekends, including two nine-day bonanzas—one in August and the other in October. Get prepping and packing folks! 2017 weekend planner is here.

Below is the snapshot if possible combinations of long weekends you can take during 2017

weekend planner, tripflavour.com

JANUARY

January is blessed with awesome weather and the freshness of being the first month of the year. A January well spent sets the tone for the rest of the year.

1. Thu, 26 Jan: Republic Day
2. Fri, 27 Jan: Take leave
3. Sat, 28 Jan: Weekend
4. Sun, 29 Jan: Weekend

Travel Tip: Consider Gulmarg in Kashmir or Auli in Uttarakhand for skiing. If Skiing is not your thing then Jawai in Pali-Rajasthan is great to spot leopards.

2017 weekend planner

FEBRUARY

February is another month with great weather for outdoor travel. Mahashivratri falls on Friday next year to make it a good combo with weekend.

1. Fri, 24 Feb: Mahashivratri
2. Sat, 25 Feb: Weekend
3. Sun, 26 Feb: Weekend

Travel Tip: On a driving distance from Delhi is Taj Mahotsav (18–27 Feb) at Agra. Andaman Islands for diving and Goa for Carnival (25–28 Feb) can be great alternatives too.

2017 Weekend Planner
2017 Weekend Planner
2017 Weekend Planner

MARCH

March has 2 kinds of people in India-One who are really busy with the fiscal year closing and other who are not. Many government employees look forward to use their LTA (Leave Travel Allowance) before it expires. March has a good weather for outdoors and it is the last month before summers set in India.

1. Sat, 11 Mar: Weekend
2. Sun, 12 Mar: Weekend
3. Mon, 13 Mar: Holi

Travel Tip: Mathura for Holi; Coorg to catch the white coffee flowers in bloom; Jaipur before it gets too hot.

1. Sat, 25 Mar: Weekend
2. Sun, 26 Mar: Weekend
3. Mon, 27 Mar: Take leave
4. Tue, 28 Mar: Gudi Padva

Travel Tip: Rishikesh for white-water rafting since it is the best time of year for this adventure.

2017 weekend planner

APRIL

April sets the tone of new Fiscal year and a lot of folks look out for a break after the hectic annual closing. Coming April in 2017 gives a lot of opportunity for this.

1. Sat, 1 Apr: Weekend

2. Sun, 2 Apr: Weekend

3. Mon, 3 Apr: Take leave

4. Tue, 4 Apr: Ram Navami

Travel Tip: Srinagar for tulips and Gulmarg for blooming flowers and snow

1. Thu, 13 Apr: Vaisakhi

2. Fri, 14 Apr: Dr Ambedkar Jayanti, Good Friday

3. Sat, 15 Apr: Weekend

4. Sun, 16 Apr: Easter + Weekend

2017 Weekend Planner

Travel Tip: Amritsar for Baisakhi Festival (14 Apr) Mahabaleshwar for the Mapro Strawberry Festival (Easter weekend)

1. Sat, 29 Apr: Weekend

2. Sun, 30 Apr: Weekend

3. Mon, 1 May: May Day

Travel Tip: Shillong, Mashobra or Landour to beat the heat; Tadoba or Ranthambore to spot the big cat; Tawang for Adventure

2017 weekend planner

MAY: The only opportunity in May is May Day on 1st of May. Which is combined with April here.

Below is Calendar format of the 2017 Weekend Planner for quick snapshot.

2017 weekend planner

JUNE

June being one of the hottest months of the years tempts you to run away to some cooler locations –Especially from North India.

1. Sat, 24 Jun: Weekend

2. Sun, 25 Jun: Weekend

3. Mon, 26 Jun: Ramzan Eid

Travel Tip: Hyderabad or Lucknow for Ramzan Eid; Munnar for the monsoon; Dharamshala for camping or trekking

July – is another month that is robbed-of any long weekend. However since it is a month of Summer-Vacations in Schools. Going back to grandparents place or relative’s place makes a great idea.

AUGUST

August of 2017 brings an opportunity to plan a long leave of 9 days, so make your plans from now

1. Sat, 12 Aug: Weekend

2. Sun, 13 Aug: Weekend

3. Mon, 14 Aug: Janmashtami or take leave

4. Tue, 15 Aug: Independence Day

5. Wed, 16 Aug: Take leave

6. Thu, 17 Aug: Parsi New Year

7. Fri, 18 Aug: Take leave

8. Sat, 19 Aug: Weekend

9. Sun, 20 Aug: Weekend

Travel Tip: Ladakh for adventure; Uttarakhand for trekking and Valley of Flowers

1. Fri, 25 Aug: Ganesh Chaturthi

2. Sat, 26 Aug: Weekend

3. Sun, 27 Aug: Weekend

Travel Tip: Pune for Ganesh Chaturthi; Coonoor for cheese-making at Acres Wild; Agumbe, Karnataka for a monsoon drive; Bali for a beach break

2017 weekend planner

SEPTEMBER

Monsoon is almost over by September, great time to head for a jungle safari and experience the forest in its most natural way.

1. Sat, 30 Sep: Weekend

2. Sun, 1 Oct: Weekend

3. Mon, 2 Oct: Gandhi Jayanti

Travel Tip: Bhutan for the Thimphu Tshechu Festival (30 Sep–2 Oct); Bandhavgarh for wildlife season; Ziro, Arunachal Pradesh for the pleasant weather.

weekend planner

OCTOBER

October is often called the month of festivals and coming October would not disappoint you at all. Pleasant weather and Diwali holidays make it an ideal time to head out

1. Sat, 14 Oct: Weekend

2. Sun, 15 Oct: Weekend

3. Mon, 16 Oct: Dhanteras or Take Leave

4. Tue, 17 Oct: Naraka Chaturdashi or Take Leave

5. Wed, 18 Oct: Diwali

6. Thu, 19 Oct: Balipratipada

7. Fri, 20 Oct: Bhaiduj

8. Sat, 21 Oct: Weekend

9. Sun, 22 Oct: Weekend

Travel Tip: Gangtok for clear views of the Kanchenjunga; Rajasthan for Diwali; Birand Billing for paragliding; Floathouse on river Kwai in Thailand for a mesmerising experience.

2017 weekend planner

November – Again comes dry in our list, it has no significant weekend to plan for vacation

DECEMBER

Being the last month of the year with 2 set of long weekends makes December perfect to plan for that much awaited trip.

1. Fri, 1 Dec: Eid-e-Milad

2. Sat, 2 Dec: Weekend

3. Sun, 3 Dec: Weekend

Travel Tip:  Nagaland for Hornbill Festival; Periyar for wildlife; Bharatpur or Odisha for spotting migratory birds

1. Sat, 23 Dec: Weekend

2. Sun, 24 Dec: Weekend

3. Mon, 25 Dec: Christmas

Travel Tip: Manali and Rohtang pass for the snow; Puducherry or Alappuzha for a winter break

We hope this weekend planner will help you to plan a Great year ahead. We are looking forward to know from you about some great locations that can be covered in these long weekends.

Related Posts:

2 Comments on “2017 – Weekend Planner and Vacation Calender

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *